Farmer’s Markets Add Joy to Your Life

Buying local keeps money in our community and supports our local farmers and vendors.  This is great as we want to keep our local people in business and keep the money circulating locally as much as possible.  Keep our local people in business.  By buying locally you are also keeping the amount of fossil fuels down by not buying food that is shipped in from other states and countries.  Eating what is fresh and in season helps with keeping down your carbon footprint.  We print a seasonal produce chart each month to help you understand what is in season each month so you can buy fresh, even if you have to go to the grocery store.  When you buy at farmer’s markets you get to know the vendors and their families.  It becomes personal as you know the names of their children and what is happening in their lives.  The produce is fresher and healthier for you as there are more vitamins and enzymes in the food.  The hand made soaps and lotions are crafted with care and do not have all of the preservatives that are bad and harmful for you in them. The jewelry is amazing and has distinction that you do not find from machine made items. The soy candles do not create soot when burned and are sustainable.

I urge you to come out to our markets.  We will have our next market on March 3  from 11-3 at Texas State University on the Quad.  The following dates will be April 6 and May 4 from 11-3 on the Quad as well.  There is always parking in the LBJ Garage.  You can always walk, ride your bike or carpool. Some vendors will take pre orders.  You can find the link to our vendors here.

I would like you to read this essay from a student at Texas State to show just what a difference a farmers market made in their life.

1st Common Experience Event

by Taylor Jones

My first Common Experience Event was the Farmer’s Market on campus at the end of September.  I had seen the sign flashing in the Quad announcing it and we had discussed it in class, so I decided to visit on my way back home from my Nutrition class.  My class usually gets out at five but I got out almost an hour early, so I arrived as they were still setting up.  It had such a great atmosphere.  I loved seeing all  of the small vendors out with their stand set up.  I felt like I was in some rural towns farmer’s market, even though it was right in the middle of campus.  It was cool to see all of the students walking around talking to the vendors, buying fresh foods.  It made me feel like part of a community. I was expecting to see just fruits and vegetables in the stands, but to my surprise they also had organic lotions and soaps as well!  I was amazed that local people still made those themselves.  The local honey stand stuck out to me the most for some reason, maybe because of the sheer amount of it they had on display.  I wanted to buy some, especially because it was local honey, which is supposed to desensitize you to local allergens, and I need all the help I can get with that.  However my money was at the dorm and I couldn’t return to the Farmer’s Market because I had to take my roommate to the Emergency Room when I got home!  I didn’t get to spend too much time there because my roommate needed me, but the time I did have to walk around got me thinking about a lot of things.

One thing the Farmer’s Market sparked my thought son was how beneficial buying food locally can be.  In No Impact Man, Colin Beaven talks about how much distance most products have to travel to get to our local grocery stores.  He mentions how much gas is wasted in driving or flying them in from exotic locations or just across the country, and how much waste is produced to package and transport them.  At the Farmer’s Market on the Quad, I hardly saw any plastic packaging.  Only what is necessary was used.  Thy had no need to make their products more appealing by wrapping them in bright colors and stamping on manipulative health claims, buying local from places like Farmer’s Markets would immensely reduce pollution and waste and encourage healthier habits.  Since many of these local farmers farm organically, it would also reduce the chemical load on average we take in by eating processes foods and produce grown with pesticides, or animals that are fed antibiotics and hormones.

Another thing that buying from Farmer’s Markets would do is bring families closer together and revive the lost art of cooking.  It seems like now a day, home-cooked meals are rarities and many kids in my generation couldn’t cook a meal for themselves if their lives depended on it.  Whenever I’m home, my grandma gives me cooking lessons, which is especially helpful since I have to make all of my food myself because of my allergies.  When I cook at home, it’s so nice because the whole family comes to the kitchen and we all sit down and eat together.  I end up hearing about how work is going for my Dad, or what my sister is doing in school and with friends.  These are things that I usually miss out on and the things I find myself looking aback on the most fondly  when I’m missing home.  I hope that when I have a family of my own, I remember these things and start traditions like these in my own home.

Leave a Reply

